252 Main Street, Hamilton, MT 59840 | STORE HOURS: M-F 9am-6pm, Sat. 10am-5pm, Sun. 11am-3pm | 406-363-5220

The Other Valley (Compact Disc)

The Other Valley By Scott Alexander Howard, Cindy Kay (Read by) Cover Image
$39.99
Backordered.

March 2024 Indie Next List


“This immersive story of a young girl falling in love is complicated by the fact that her home valley borders two other valleys where the past and future live — and no interaction is allowed. Sometimes, borders must be crossed. A new favorite.”
— Beth Mynhier, Lake Forest Book Store, Lake Forest, IL

Description


For fans of David Mitchell, Ruth Ozeki, and Kazuo Ishiguro, an elegant and exhilarating literary speculative novel about an isolated town neighbored by its own past and future, and a young girl who spots two elderly visitors from across the border: the grieving parents of the boy she loves.Sixteen-year-old Odile is an awkward, quiet girl vying for a coveted seat on the Conseil. If she earns the position, she'll decide who may cross her town's heavily guarded borders. On the other side, it's the same valley, the same town. Except to the east, the town is twenty years ahead in time. To the west, it's twenty years behind. The towns repeat in an endless sequence across the wilderness. When Odile recognizes two visitors she wasn't supposed to see, she realizes that the parents of her friend Edme have been escorted across the border from the future, on a mourning tour, to view their son while he's still alive in Odile's present. Edme--who is brilliant, funny, and the only person to truly see Odile--is about to die. Sworn to secrecy in order to preserve the timeline, Odile now becomes the Conseil's top candidate. Yet she finds herself drawing closer to the doomed boy, imperiling her entire future. A breathlessly moving "unique take on the intersection of fate and free will" (Nikki Erlick, author of The Measure), The Other Valley is "a stellar debut, full of heartbreak and hope wrapped up in gorgeous prose" (Christina Dalcher, author of Vox).
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797169347
ISBN-10: 1797169343
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 27th, 2024
Language: English