The Book of Wonder: Fourteen Fantasy Short Stories (Paperback)

The Book of Wonder: Fourteen Fantasy Short Stories Cover Image
Not in Store - Usually Ships in 1-5 days.


The Book of Wonder Fantasy Short Stories By Lord Dunsany The Book of Wonder is the seventh book and fifth original short story collection of Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula K. Le Guin and others. It was first published in hardcover by William Heinemann in November, 1912, and has been reprinted a number of times since. A 1918 edition from the Modern Library was actually a combined edition with Time and the Gods. The book collects fourteen fantasy short stories by the author. The Bride of the Man-Horse The Distressing Tale of Thangobrind the Jeweller, and of the Doom that Befel Him The House of the Sphinx The Probable Adventure of the Three Literary Men The Injudicious Prayers of Pombo the Idolator The Loot of Bombasharna Miss Cubbidge and the Dragon of Romance The Quest of the Queen's Tears The Hoard of the Gibbelins How Nuth Would Have Practised His Art upon the Gnoles How One Came, as Was Foretold, to the City of Never The Coronation of Mr. Thomas Shap Chu-Bu and Sheemish The Wonderful Window.

About the Author

Lord Dunsany employed the remarkable talents of Sidney Sime to illustrate his fantasy short story collections, but The Book of Wonder is unique in that Sydney Sime drew the illustrations first, and Lord Dunsany wrote the tales around them: 'I found Mr Sime one day, in his strange house at Worplesdon, complaining that editors did not offer him very suitable subjects for illustration; so I said: "Why not do any pictures you like, and I will write stories explaining them, which may add a little to their mystery?"'
Product Details
ISBN: 9781497443730
ISBN-10: 1497443733
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: March 25th, 2014
Pages: 60
Language: English